Love My Lap Band!

Everything you want to know about life and weight loss with a Lap Band!

Archive for March 27th, 2008

Lap Band Blogger Post

Posted by Lori on March 27, 2008

I’m always looking around for new and interesting blogs to add to the blogroll – the idea of this whole site being to provide as much info as possible for people thinking about gastric banding as possible. MJ, from A NEW START, talks about the changes in her life. Small post. Thoughtful post.

I can’t do this by myself. Putting weight on by myself is easy. I can just eat and eat and eat – I don’t need any help with that. Without all of the supportive comments that I get here, and on my piczo page, and on the yahoo message boards I don’t think I could do this. Thank you all. The support I’m getting in real life is priceless too – my boyfriend, most of my family, my friends and my colleagues make it so much easier.

Every study done finds that people who attend support groups do better than people who don’t. You can’t just get this surgery done, and then get it right without help. I know from people I’ve spoken with that having a good support system in place, even if you’re doctor doesn’t provide a group for you, will make a big, big difference in your level of success.

There’s a whole new world of flavours, textures and tastes out there. I think I’m eating better than I ever have in my adult life. I’m enjoying eating and loving all the different things going on.

It’s true – wolfing food down really isn’t the best way to sample it. Even skinny people have to learn this lesson.

I think my life is richer now. I’m more confident and happier, so I’m doing more. I’m trying different things and I’m less scared of what people think. Oddly enough, I’m not the centre of everyone’s world. Who knew?

Who knew, indeed? Funny how we all think we’re the reason for all the whispering and todo-ing in the world. And it turns out that everyone has got their own drama and they are, largely, ignoring ours. 🙂

It’s a good blog. She’s an accountant and I’m always interested in how they think.

Posted in Lap Band Bloggers | Tagged: , , , , | Leave a Comment »

What Can You Eat With A Lap Band?

Posted by Lori on March 27, 2008

I like this clip – it’s purely practical. Lorraine talks about what food she can eat and how much she can eat. She also talks about when she eats too much and gets “in trouble”.

Posted in Lap Band Weight Loss Stories, Love My Lap Band Video Interviews, Video Blogs | Tagged: , , , , , , , | 1 Comment »

The First Month After A Lap Band Procedure

Posted by Lori on March 27, 2008

In this video, Lorraine Kay talks about the first month after surgery. Lorraine had congestive heart failure and wrestled with a tremendous amount of edema – which largely disappeared the first month. Her legs had been so swollen that she couldn’t bend them to walk up stairs. Now, she could walk and felt like a different person. She didn’t need pain pills but she was kinda hungry.

Posted in Lap Band, Lap Band Weight Loss Stories, Lap Bands And Diabetes, Love My Lap Band Video Interviews, Video Blogs | Tagged: , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »