Love My Lap Band!

Everything you want to know about life and weight loss with a Lap Band!

OMG! You Really Can Get Fat Just Looking At Food!

Posted by Lori on August 3, 2009

From The Right Bite by Stephanie Dalvit-McPhillips:

There was a  remarkable study that was conducted at Yale University by Dr. Judith Rodin. She showed that the mere thought of food can start the food deposition process. In experiments, people were instructed not to eat for eighteen hours. At the end of this time, blood samples were drawn from people in the study as they were being told that they could soon eat the juicy mouth-watering steaks charbroiling before them. Results of these tests revealed that in all cases, insulin levels skyrocketed, causing blood sugar to be stored as fat and glycogen well before our famished subjects had taken their first bite.

Grrrrrrrr……

The human body is an amazing thing.

2 Responses to “OMG! You Really Can Get Fat Just Looking At Food!”

  1. Hi Lori,

    Thank you so much for posting this information. I, myself stumbled upon it when I was working on my book, “Lovin’ the Skin You’re In.

    As a professional coach, body image/self esteem expert and gal who has struggled with my own weight issues for years, I’ve learned that the relationship that we have with food is really only reflective of the relationship that we have with our bodies.

    As a woman who has endured many painful years of abuse, I’ve realized that the excess weight on my body that I’ve hated for so long is really just a reminder of how far I’ve come. It’s a road map of where I’ve been and how I’ve felt about my life.

    My research had led me to explore the field of mind/brain science and that has given me a greater understanding of how our thoughts affect our bodies. As I tell my clients, food is not the issue. It’s those limiting thoughts and beliefs that we have that Dr. Judith Rodin calls body traps.

    In her book, “Body Traps: Breaking the Binds That Keep You Feeling Good About Your Body,” she shares the continuation of her findings from her experiments that she began at Yale.

    She explains that although these body traps are debilitating or limiting in some way, they can be changed by eliminating the ignorance that many of us share about our bodies.

    She describes seven different types of body traps. They are as follows:

    The Vanity Trap – being obsessed with one’s appearance
    The Shame Trap – feelings of shame with our bodies
    The Competition Trap – competition with oneself and others to be more physically attractive or thinner
    The Food Trap – feeling guilty eating certain foods, believing that some foods are good and others are bad

    The Dieting Rituals Trap – having an unrealistic view of diets
    The Fitness Trap – obsessive desire to exercise to become fit
    The Success Trap – having the unrealistic expectation that losing weight and improving your appearance will make you happy

    As a coach, I understand that these limiting beliefs affect the way that we think about ourselves, the world and everything around us. If you think of yourself as fat and believe that there is nothing that you can do about it, you’ll tend to remain stuck in patterns that will keep you overweight.

    I personally am not in favor of lap band surgery, because I feel that without handling the emotions that caused the individual to seek out food for comfort, they will always revert back to their safety net; food. I am passionate about sharing stress relief techniques with other women to teach them that they always have the power of choice and by learning to make peace with food and friends with their body, they will enable their body to slim down without ever dieting or depriving themselves again. I’d love to speak with you more about this and share what I know with your readers

    I’m here to help.

    Warmest regards,

    Andrea

    • Lori said

      Dear Andrea,

      There has never been a single scientific study that validates your opinion. No one has ever found a way, through diet and exercise, to allow the majority of obese people to take off most of their excess weight and keep it off. Not therapy, even.

      You seem like a decent person, which is the only reason I approved the comment, but I think you’re engaging in superstition. Like, “If I resolve my issues with my XYZ, I’ll be able to lose weight and keep it off.” Bullshit – absolute bullshit. And if someone is paying for a Life Coach, expensive bullshit.

      The fact of the matter is, as demonstrated by dozens of studies over the past FIVE decades, the majority of excess weight is genetic in origin and no amount of psychotherapy or coaching is going to take that off and keep it off. The only thing is going to do that is fundamentally altering how your body metabolizes foods. People aren’t overweight because they have emotional issues. They’ve overweight because their body is fuel efficient and no amount of coaching will change that.

      For years, I ate 1200 well-balanced calorie a day. I had a physically demanding job and I exercised I walk 12.5 minutes per mile and lift weights. I couldn’t lose weight doing that. In order to lose weight, i’d have to increase my exercise to 3 hours per day. Taking it back down to an hour a day would put the weight right back on.

      Go read some of the studies I link. After reading the science, you’ll have a moral obligation to step away from your rhetoric. You’re hurting people. You’re convincing them that they’re overweight because they have emotional issues and there is no real science to back that up.

Leave a Reply

 
